Shopware Redirect Plugin

The idea for the Shopware Redirect Plugin

With the Shopware Redirect Plugin, we at scope01 want to make your work easier and help you. Because again and again we as Internet agency are faced with the tedious challenge that we have to manually manage redirects (redirects) for customers, for example, during a launch or when changing / deactivating products in the htaccess.

This is neither comprehensible for the customer nor administratable during operation. Because usually no customer works on a htaccess file. Also, the coordination of sending Excel / CSV data is quite cumbersome and time-consuming. So we came up with the idea for Shopware to develop a plugin in which users can manage redirects in the Shopware backend. First we developed the plugin for Shopware 5, then also for Shopware 6.

What are redirects?

2 types of redirects are very important for the administration of online stores:

  • The status code 301 stands for a permanent redirection (moved permanently). This is used, for example, when an item is sold out and a successor is already defined. This successor should then be linked automatically.
  • The status code 302 stands for a temporary redirection (moved temporarily). For example, an article has no more stock and should be taken offline for a certain time. So you can temporarily redirect to an alternative product in the store.

Through the entry of redirects, errors (eg error 404 not found) for the visitor of the online store are avoided. In addition, the value of a search engine optimized page is transferred from the old to the new article.

.

Shopware 6

Since 2020 we offer our successful Shopware Redirect Plugin for Shopware version 6. This has been fundamentally redeveloped by us, since the technical basis has changed completely from Shopware version 5 to version 6. This means that the options for setting up redirects are also available in the new version of the e-commerce software. Both for permanent (301) and temporary redirects (302). You can download this plugin here in the Shopware Store.

The administration of redirects is located in Shopware 6 under Settings – Shop – Redirects:

.

seo redirect plugin

Shopware 5

The management of redirects is located in Shopware 5 under the menu item Settings – Redirect Manager. As soon as the user opens the plugin, he gets an overview of the already deposited redirects:

SEO Redirect Plugin

Administration im Shopware Redirect Plugin

To manage the redirects, the start address (Start URL), the target address (Target URL) and the associated http code are entered in both plugins (Shopware 5 and 6). The status codes 301 and 302 are available for selection. Regarding the addresses (URL) the user can add a new entry in the administration. As well as all already deposited entries delete or edit.

In addition to the manual editing of redirects, there is the possibility of already deposited redirects for Shopware to export or import new redirects. For this purpose, two prominent buttons are available to the user. The export of the files takes place in the form of a csv file with UFT-8 coding. For the import of data, these specifications must be taken into account (CSV/UTF8), otherwise no import is possible.

.

Frequently asked questions (FAQ)

In order to use our plugin, the old URLs must still be accessible. Since this is usually not the case, configuring the redirects using a single .htaccess command is more suitable. Otherwise, you also have to store each individual URL with source and destination in our redirect plugin to achieve the desired behavior.

The table is called scop_platform_redirecter_redirect.

The issue of “query strings” is already solved in the current version of the redirect plugin.

It is best to create redirects once in the plugin and then export them. Please use this file as a template. Because often there are problems with the encoding (character set), the column names, possible spaces, etc. when importing. A semicolon (;) must be used as separator.

Generally, it can happen during import that a redirect in the import file already exists in the system. For this case, you can specify whether the system should overwrite the existing redirect in the system with the redirect from the file, or whether the redirect in the file should be skipped.

There are 2 ways to detect identical redirects – for both ways you can choose separately between overwrite and skip:

  • The IDs of the redirects are the same
  • The source URLs of the redirects are the same

Major Updates Shopware Redirect Plugin

September 2020

We have been offering the Shopware Redirect plugin in the Shopware Store and on Github for 4 months. In the Store alone, it has already been downloaded over 100 times. On Github, too, the first activity is already showing. So the demand for an easy administration of redirects, directly in the Shopware backend, is there.

For this reason we decided to refactor the Shopware Redirect Plugin with version 1.0.6. In other words, we have once again fundamentally improved and optimized the code.

If you have any questions about the Shopware Redirect Plugin or Shopware, please contact us directly. As a certified and award-winning Shopware Partner, we will be happy to assist you.

Shopware Redirect Plugin

Die Idee zum Shopware Redirect Plugin

Mit dem Shopware Redirect Plugin wollen wir von scope01 eine große Arbeitserleichterung und Hilfe schaffen. Denn immer wieder stehen wir als Internetagentur vor der mühsamen Herausforderung, dass wir für Kunden redirects (Weiterleitungen, bzw. Umleitungen) z.B. bei einem Livegang oder bei Änderungen / Deaktivierung von Produkten in der htaccess manuell verwalten müssen.

Dies ist für den Kunden weder nachvollziehbar noch im laufenden Betrieb administrierbar. Denn in Regel arbeitet kein Kunde an einer htaccess Datei. Auch ist die Abstimmung über den Versand von Excel / CSV Daten ziemlich umständlich und zeitaufwändig. So kamen wir auf die Idee für Shopware ein Plugin zu entwickeln, in welchem die User redirects im Shopware Backend verwalten können. Zuerst haben wir das Plugin für Shopware 5 entwickelt, dann auch für Shopware 6.

Was sind Weiterleitungen?

2 Arten von Weiterleitungen sind für die Administration von Onlineshops sehr wichtig:

  • Der Statuscode 301 steht für eine dauerhafte Umleitung (moved permanently). Diese kommt zum Beispiel dann zum Einsatz, wenn ein Artikel ausverkauft und bereits ein Nachfolger definiert ist. Auf diesen Nachfolger soll dann automatisch verlinkt werden.
  • Der Statuscode 302 steht für eine vorübergehende Umleitung (moved temporarily). Zum Beispiel ein Artikel hat keinen Bestand mehr und soll für eine bestimme Zeit offline genommen werden. So können Sie im Shop vorübergehend auf ein alternatives Produkt weiterleiten.

Durch den Eintrag von Weiterleitungen werden Fehler (z.B. Fehler 404 nicht gefunden) für den Besucher des Onlineshops vermieden. Zusätzlich wird der Wert einer suchmaschinenoptimierten Seite von dem alten auf den neuen Artikel übertragen.

Shopware 6

Seit 2020 bieten wir unser erfolgreiches Shopware Redirect Plugin für die Version 6 von Shopware an. Dieses ist von uns grundlegend neu entwickelt worden, da sich die technische Basis von Shopware Version 5 zu Version 6 komplett verändert hat. Damit stehen auch in der neuen Version der E-Commerce Software die Möglichkeiten zur Einrichtung von Weiterleitungen zur Verfügung. Sowohl für dauerhafte (301) als auch temporäre Weiterleitungen (302). Dieses Plugin können Sie hier im Shopware Store herunterladen.

Die Administration der Weiterleitungen befindet sich in Shopware 6 unter Einstellungen – Shop – Weiterleitungen:

seo redirect plugin

Shopware 5

Der Verwaltung der Weiterleitungen befindet sich in Shopware 5 unter dem Menüpunkt Einstellungen – Redirect Manager. Sobald der User das Plugin öffnet, erhält er eine Übersicht der bereits hinterlegten Weiterleitungen:

SEO Redirect Plugin

Zum Download des Plugins für Shopware 5 im Store

Administration im Shopware Redirect Plugin

Zur Verwaltung der Weiterleitungen werden in beiden Plugins (Shopware 5 und 6) die Startadresse (Start URL), die Zieladresse (Target URL) sowie der dazugehörige http Code eingegeben. Dabei stehen die Statuscodes 301 und 302 als Auswahl zur Verfügung . Bezüglich den Adressen (URL) kann der User kann in der Verwaltung einen neuen Eintrag hinzufügen. Sowie alle bereits hinterlegten Einträge löschen oder bearbeiten.

Neben der manuellen Bearbeitung von redirects gibt es die Möglichkeit die bereits hinterlegten Weiterleitungen für Shopware zu exportieren oder aber neue Weiterleitungen zu importieren. Hierzu stehen dem User zwei prominente Schaltflächen zur Verfügung. Der Export der Dateien erfolgt in Form einer csv-Datei mit UFT-8 Kodierung. Für den Import von Daten sind diese Vorgaben zu berücksichtigen (CSV/UTF8), sonst ist kein Import möglich.

Häufige Fragen (FAQ)

Um unser Plugin zu nutzen, müssen die alten URLs weiterhin erreichbar sein. Da dies in der Regel nicht der Fall ist, eignet sich eine Konfiguration der Weiterleitungen mittels eines einzelnen .htaccess Befehls eher. Sonst müssen Sie auch jede einzelne URL mit Quelle und Ziel in unserem Redirect Plugin hinterlegen, um das gewünschte Verhalten zu erreichen.

Die Tabelle heißt scop_platform_redirecter_redirect.

Das Thema „Query Strings“ ist in der aktuellen Version des Redirect-Plugins bereits gelöst.

Am besten einmalig im Plugin Weiterleitungen anlegen und diese dann exportieren. Diese Datei dann bitte als Vorlage verwenden. Denn oftmals gibt es beim Import Probleme mit der Kodierung (Zeichensatz), den Spaltennamen, evtl. Leerzeichen uvm. Als Trennzeichen muss ein Semikolon (;) verwendet werden.

Die von Shopware gesetzten Weiterleitungen werden im Redirect Plugin nicht aufgeführt.

Grundsätzlich kann es beim Importieren vorkommen, dass eine Weiterleitung in der Import Datei bereits im System vorhanden ist. Für diesen Fall können Sie festlegen, ob das System die vorhandene Weiterleitung im System mit der Weiterleitung aus der Datei überschreiben soll, oder ob die Weiterleitung in der Datei übersprungen werden soll.

Dabei gibt es 2 Möglichkeiten, gleiche Weiterleitungen zu erkennen – für beide Möglichkeiten können Sie separat zwischen überschreiben und überspringen wählen:

  • Die IDs der Weiterleitungen sind gleich
  • Die Quell URLs der Weiterleitungen sind gleich

Major Updates Shopware Redirect Plugin

Oktober 2021

Auf vielfachen Wunsch haben wir jetzt eine Import und Export Funktion in das Shopware 6 Plugin integriert. Damit können über csv Dateien Weiterleitungen importiert und exportiert werden. Vor dem Import empfehlen wir manuell ein paar Weiterleitungen anzulegen. Und diese dann als csv Datei zu exportieren. Damit haben Sie eine gute Vorlage für den weiteren Import. Denn die csv Datei ist oftmals die Ursache für Fehler. Zum Beispiel wenn ein falscher Zeichensatz oder ein falsches Trennzeichen verwendet wird.

Zusätzlich kann jetzt jede einzelne Weiterleitung aktiviert und deaktiviert werden.

September 2020

Das Shopware Redirect Plugin bieten wir seit 4 Monaten im Shopware Store und auf Github an. Alleine im Store wurde es bereits über 100 mal heruntergeladen. Auch auf Github zeigt sich bereits erste Aktivität. Die Nachfrage nach einer einfachen Administration von Weiterleitungen, direkt im Shopware Backend, ist also da.

Aus diesem Grund haben wir uns entschlossen, mit der Version 1.0.6 das Shopware Redirect Plugin einem Refactoring zu unterziehen. Mit anderen Worten wir haben den Code noch einmal grundlegend verbessert und optimiert. Für technisch Versierte hier die Änderungen im Einzelnen:

  • changed plugin compatibility from 5.5.10 to 5.5.0
  • fixed readme
  • removed additional slash at the end fix
  • removed strict_type and proprietary comment from the subscriber
  • fixed php-unit test and added detail controller check for redirecting link
  • removed checking for the detail controller
  • new plugin configuration added and phpunit test
  • added config.xml
  • added more inputs for php-unit test
  • Override the readme and upgraded the plugin version
  • PHP-unit test override
  • added a new php-unit test
  • composer and readme updated
  • improved translations, labels, descriptions and types
  • improved translations, labels, descriptions and types
  • refactored plugin testing classes cases and functionality
  • added default values, validation and fixed phpstan errors
  • added php headers
  • fixed translation
  • added more validations on update
  • close detail window after successful save
  • improved changelog
  • added start uri validation, fixed minor styling issues
  • fixed default values and added validation on importing from csv file

Bei Fragen zum Shopware Redirect Plugin oder zu Shopware wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an uns. Als zertifizierter und prämierter Shopware Partner stehen wir Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung.